Friday, 11 April 2008

Online Program With Doug Johnson

I just received this information from Joyce Valenza:

In celebration of National Library Week, join the American Associationof School Librarians for a very special online program in the virtual reality environment Second Life (SL) on Monday, April 14th at 9pm ET/8pm CT/ 7pm MT/ 6pm PT.Doug Johnson (http://doug-johnson.squarespace.com) will bring us apresentation and discussion entitled:"Beating the No U-Turn Syndrome: A New Approach to Teaching andEnforcing Copyright Compliance."For too long librarians have been seen as "copyright cops," impedingthe use of copyrighted materials by students and staff. This presentation suggests we redefine our roles, helping those we serve take maximum advantage of fair use provisions, finding authoritieswith a "user-centric" view of copyright enforcement, and teachingothers to consider not just the legal, but moral side of intellectualproperty acquisition, use and re-use. Heated discussion to follow.

To attend this event:
1. Go to www.secondlife.com and click on the orange button to create afree avatar account
2. Verify that you will be using a computer that meets SL systemsrequirements found at http://secondlife.com/corporate/sysreqs.php.
3. Download the client software at http://secondlife.com/support/downloads.php.
4. Install the software on your computer and log onto SL using youravatar name and password
5. If this is your first time in SL, log on well in advance of this program to go through the orientation activities that are provided bySL for new avatars.
6. Then, on the day of the event, log on at least fifteen minutes inadvance. Use the SLURLhttp://slurl.com/secondlife/ALA%20Island/127/106/29 to teleport to theevent.
7. When you arrive, take a seat and then touch the notecard giver forfurther information.8. In this program, Doug Johnson will be using voice to communicate.Make sure you are enabled for voice by clicking Editl -> Preferences-> Voice Chat -> Enable Voice Chat. To hear the presentation, makesure that your sound is unmated and volume turned up. Do NOT touchthe talk button to avoid extraneous background noises during thepresentation.

This program is brought to you by the AASL Web 2.0 Taskforce and theChicago Public Schools Dept of Libraries. See you in-world!

3 comments:

Donna said...

Carlene,

Thank you for sharing this information. I will be there. This will be an interesting follow-up to the recent post on Doug Johnson's blog.

Estabilizador e Nobreak said...

Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my blog, it is about the Estabilizador e Nobreak, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://estabilizador-e-nobreak.blogspot.com. A hug.

Selma said...

This is great info to know.